News:

Due to a technical issue, some recently uploaded pictures have been lost. We are investigating why this happened but the issue has been resolved so that future uploads should be safe.  You can also Modify your post (MORE...) and re-upload the pictures in your post.

Main Menu

1962 Cadillac De Ville Purchase? - Advice Needed

Started by Jaxman, September 28, 2017, 11:03:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jaxman

Hello, new to the forums here.

First off, I'm totally new to car restorations. I don't know much about classic cars or the ins and outs of what it means to restore upholstery or drivetrains of old cars. I know a fair bit about the mechanics and technology in new cars, and do basic maintenance work on my Buick and Corolla every few months. I have some basic tools at home, but nothing more.

However, I've always been a huge fan of the enterprise of working on, owning, and driving an older American car. Then the other day, I saw this car parked a few miles from where I work. It caught my attention, and I thought if I was looking to get into owning a classic, this might be my in. But my lack of experience and generally cautious attitude has held me back, and I thought I might ask some people who know what they're talking about what they think. So I came here.

I also searched my local craigslist ads and found that it was advertised there as well. Here is the link: https://portland.craigslist.org/wsc/pts/d/1962-cadillac-sedan-de-ville/6308509299.html

From one of the pictures, it looks like the odometer says 15,162 miles.

So I ask your help- what are some things to keep in mind? If I want a driveable weekend car, what sort of budget should I keep aside for this project? What about registration and insurance, and other procedural stuff I'll need to take care of? I've never really even bought a car from a person before, usually I go to a used car lot or a dealership. So I really am very new to several aspects of this.