News:

Due to a technical issue, some recently uploaded pictures have been lost. We are investigating why this happened but the issue has been resolved so that future uploads should be safe.  You can also Modify your post (MORE...) and re-upload the pictures in your post.

Main Menu

Transmission Repair

Started by LoStreet, January 24, 2018, 04:33:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

LoStreet

Hello, I am new here.  Have a 55 Fleetwood, all original.  I'm not a mechanic, just a driver.  I love that car; I try to keep it up, but have serious financial  limitations.  I just spent over $2000 for brakes recently (a totally different discussion if anyone is interested), that's all I have in the car fund.  Wanted you to know where I'm coming from.  So my question will offend the purists out there, but here it is anyway.  The transmission leaks moderately, maybe a 1/2 quart a month with infrequent driving.  I am planning to put it up on a rack, find the leak, dry it, and apply something, probably either the gunk from a tube of exhaust system patch, or plumbers' soft-gray stick epoxy.  Please tell me if I am totally crazy and what the downside of this might be (or help with a better solution).  Thank you much! (PS: Just throwing in a pic of my Caddy for no real reason) L. Street

Barry M Wheeler #2189

You will probably get all kinds of replies, but I'll throw in my answer before the experts show up. If what you put on the outside of the transmission case "fixes" the leak for now, why not? If worse comes to worse, you can grind the stuff off you apply with a Dremel tool or whatever when you have the funds to do it "right." Whatever, if this "works", I'd still watch the level like a hawk. Best of luck, and you have a pretty car!
Barry M. Wheeler #2189

1981 Cadillac Seville
1991 Cadillac Seville

WTL