News:

Due to a technical issue, some recently uploaded pictures have been lost. We are investigating why this happened but the issue has been resolved so that future uploads should be safe.  You can also Modify your post (MORE...) and re-upload the pictures in your post.

Main Menu

1967 DeVille Cornering lamps

Started by Bryan Thompson, March 28, 2018, 07:07:19 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bryan Thompson

Good morning technical wizards one and all,

Sadly I'm not an electrician.  I recently acquired nice low mileage nearly all original 1967 DeVille Convertible.  As with any new acquisition I knew there would be some bugs.  One that I didn't expect is blinking cornering lamps. My first purchase after she arrived was a 1967 Cadillac Service manual.  I've looked  at the wiring page till my eyes go crossed, which is quite serious as I only have one working eye.   I've spent about an hour and a half under the dash trying to figure out which wire or group of wires to check to find out why this is happening.  (I'm assuming based on all my other previous Cadillacs they aren't supposed to blink).  :o Thank you for any help and I won't ask about being gentile this time.     
I would rather push an old Cadillac, than drive a new anything:-)

67_Eldo

I have a 67 Eldorado, but its cornering-light design appears to be shared with the rest of the Cadillac family, so I'll hazard some info.

The cornering lamps are connected to the directional-signal switch, but the cornering lamps shouldn't blink. The cornering lamps remain constantly illuminated until the directional switch is returned to its middle position.

However, my cornering lamps "blink" too -- although not in sync with the turn signals -- because the cornering-lamp switch (located inside the steering column) is flaky. Sometimes one of my cornering lights spontaneously illuminates because something in the switch is making contact for some unknown reason.