News:

Reminder to CLC members, please make sure that your CLC number is stored in the relevant field in your forum profile. This is important for the upcoming change to the Forums access, More information can be found at the top of the General Discussion forum. To view or edit your profile details, click on your username, at the top of any forum page. Your username only appears when you are signed in.

Main Menu

'67 Eldorado Purchase; Question

Started by joecadillac63, April 30, 2019, 12:35:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

joecadillac63

I have been eyeing the market for several years regarding 67-70 Eldorados (I bought a '69 in 2013 off ebay and it had a completely rotten roof under the vinyl -lesson learned - sold it at a loss).  I am picking up a '67 slick top this weekend and my question is regarding the different years' issues.  I have seen many posts discussing potential drivetrain problems specific to each year - can someone help me figure out how to search the forum for this information?  I have searched the model and year and it's not pulling up much...

Thanks,
Joe
Current:
1967 69347 Fleetwood Eldorado Coupe

Previous:
1963 6267 Series 62 Convertible Coupe
1969 69347 Fleetwood Eldorado Coupe

hornetball

Good call on the slick top.  I'd like to find the inventor of the vinyl top and strangle him.

I've never heard much on drivetrain issues for the Eldos and Toros.  The TH425, right from the earliest iteration, was overbuilt.  Make sure the driveshaft CV joints are in good shape (easily fixed if a boot is ripped).

Collectors seem to prefer the '67, although it had the older 429 engine along with drum brakes.  My favorite is the '68 with 472 and front discs.  I also like the turn indicators that showed up on the '68.  The filler plates on the '67 always looked like afterthoughts to me.

Good luck with the car.  I had a '70 and really need to get another of Bill Mitchell's best work.

Barry M Wheeler #2189