News:

Reminder to CLC members, please make sure that your CLC number is stored in the relevant field in your forum profile. This is important for the upcoming change to the Forums access, More information can be found at the top of the General Discussion forum. To view or edit your profile details, click on your username, at the top of any forum page. Your username only appears when you are signed in.

Main Menu

Points and condensers vs. electronic ignition module conversions

Started by Caddy Wizard, May 29, 2019, 01:27:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Caddy Wizard

My good friend Jay Friedman and I collaborate all the time on old Cadillac projects and agree on many, many things.  But Pertronix vs. points is not one of them.  I was a mechanic for 10 years, I own a beat-up distributor machine that lets me set the dwell on a points distributor rather accurately, and I've done the dual-points thing a number of times.  But I don't run anything but Pertronix electronic ignition modules in my old cars.

The Pertronix modules are very reliable, but when they do fail it can be without warning.  They run better, start easier, and are maintenance-free.  On starting, some of the units modify the energy delivered to improve starting.  Some also can adjust the timing slightly at differing RPMs to maximize ignition performance.

If you do choose a Pertronix module, pay careful attention to the instructions.  They are very simple to install, but are sensitive to the wrong input voltage, solid core plug wires will damage them, and they can be damaged by leaving the ignition key on but not running.