News:

Due to a technical issue, some recently uploaded pictures have been lost. We are investigating why this happened but the issue has been resolved so that future uploads should be safe.  You can also Modify your post (MORE...) and re-upload the pictures in your post.

Main Menu

12Volt battery cable on 6volt system

Started by JohnWNY, June 03, 2019, 09:55:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JohnWNY

Has anyone used 12 volt battery cables on a 6 volt battery for better starting?  I have a 1939 LaSalle.

LaSalle5019

It will definitely crank much slower with 12 volt cables since they are a larger numerical gauge which corresponds to a smaller diameter wire size. You want 1-0 or larger diameter wire.
Scott

TJ Hopland

I'm no expert on the subject but I would think '12v' cables would just make things worse.   Reason is typically higher voltage means less amps for the same amount of work so assuming all else the same it takes less amps to spin a 12v starter.  Amps is what determines the cable size, more amps means you need thicker wire.   If the wire is too thin it gets hot that is wasted power that isn't going to the starter plus makes the resistance go up which takes more amps.  If this goes on too long something is going to give in a melted metal sort of way. 

So because of this 12v cables will typically be smaller than 6v cables especially the more modern you get because of the saving money and weight thing. 

If you are not concerned about an all original look I would get as fat of cables as is practical.   You can often buy fairly universal fairly heavy duty cables fairly cheap from places that specialize in heavy trucks and equipment.   Some of the farm and fleet sorts of places are often a good source.     
StPaul/Mpls, MN USA

73 Eldo convert w/FiTech EFI
80 Eldo Diesel
90 CDV
And other assorted stuff I keep buying for some reason

Abe Lugo

My wife had this issue on here ‘33 Plymouth. Slow cranking.