News:

Due to a technical issue, some recently uploaded pictures have been lost. We are investigating why this happened but the issue has been resolved so that future uploads should be safe.  You can also Modify your post (MORE...) and re-upload the pictures in your post.

Main Menu

1957 cadillac engine oil change.

Started by mldurocher, July 01, 2019, 09:55:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mldurocher

Im looking for advice on what engine oil I should use for my 57 series 62 with the 365 and when I change the oil filter do I have to soak it in oil, any help would be most helpful. Im a noob.

dplotkin

I'll assume the car is used in above freezing ambient, for hobby purposes and that the engine is in good mechanical condition. 10W30. As to the filter, to my knowledge you have a cannister type filter with a removable and throwaway element as I do on my 56.

Dan
56 Fleetwood Sixty Special (Starlight silver over Dawn Grey)
60 Buick Electra six window
60 Chrysler 300 F Coupe
61 Plymouth Savoy Ram Inducted 413 Superstock
62 Pontiac Bonneville Vista
63 Chevy Impala convertable
63 Ford Galaxie XL fastback
65 Corvette convertable 396
68 Chrysler New Yorker

mldurocher

Thanks Dan. So using a modern oil is okay? And yes its a canister oil filter but do I prime it? Im doing the first oil change since I've owned it which is about 2 months and my manual has not arrived yet.

chrisntam

If using normal modern oil, suggest adding zddp additive.  It provides zinc in the oil for the hydraulic lifter (tappets) riding on the cam.  Or you can use dedicated oil for older cars.

Here's the like for zddp searches, read through them and determine how best to proceed.

http://forums.cadillaclasalleclub.org/index.php?action=search2

You'll have to put zddp in the search box...
1970 Deville Convertible 
Dallas, Texas

mldurocher

Lexi