News:

Due to a technical issue, some recently uploaded pictures have been lost. We are investigating why this happened but the issue has been resolved so that future uploads should be safe.  You can also Modify your post (MORE...) and re-upload the pictures in your post.

Main Menu

1956 steering box disassembly

Started by Bronze, May 18, 2020, 01:20:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bronze

I have a leak on the 90 degree tube that attaches the control valve to the housing. After checking the exploded view i thought i could just remove the 2 screws holding the valve body to the housing and then lift he valve body up, but there seems to be more resistance than can be explained by the o-ring. Is the inside lever attached in some smart way that prevents the valve body to be removed? I guess the simple question is, how do i remove the valve body to replace the o-rings in the 90 degree tube, (or "cover" as it is called in the exploded view).
Suspect Roger might have the answer to this one as he seems to have been doing quite a bit of work on he steering gears...

Thanks in advance for any hints.
/Martin

J. Gomez

Quote from: Bronze on May 18, 2020, 01:20:51 PM
I have a leak on the 90 degree tube that attaches the control valve to the housing. After checking the exploded view i thought i could just remove the 2 screws holding the valve body to the housing and then lift he valve body up, but there seems to be more resistance than can be explained by the o-ring. Is the inside lever attached in some smart way that prevents the valve body to be removed? I guess the simple question is, how do i remove the valve body to replace the o-rings in the 90 degree tube, (or "cover" as it is called in the exploded view).
Suspect Roger might have the answer to this one as he seems to have been doing quite a bit of work on he steering gears...

Thanks in advance for any hints.
/Martin

Martin,