News:

Reminder to CLC members, please make sure that your CLC number is stored in the relevant field in your forum profile. This is important for the upcoming change to the Forums access, More information can be found at the top of the General Discussion forum. To view or edit your profile details, click on your username, at the top of any forum page. Your username only appears when you are signed in.

Main Menu

1970 rear Defogger switch Bad or Ok ?

Started by Bill Balkie 24172, November 24, 2019, 04:38:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bill Balkie 24172

Hello ,
    My rear Defogger does not work on my 1970 Cadillac .  I am not an expert in automotive wiring . So I want to start with the Switch in the dash . I removed the switch after gluing  two strips of rubber to a pair of vice grips. The switch was easily pulled out of the dash board without damage to the switch . Working with a test light I first checked to see if the switch was getting power and it is .  I have attached a rough sketch with the results of my test .  With the switch off I have power to the switch  with no power coming out of the yellow and yellow and black wires . When switched to low I thought  only one wire would be delivering power . I have bright test light  on the yellow and black . Very low light coming off the yellow wire .  When switched to Hi I have a very bright light from the yellow and black and a bright light on the yellow wire  . My question is does the switch look OK  ? If it does my problem might be at the motor
End . Any advice will be appreciated.
  Thank you very much,
             Bill
Bill Balkie
1970 Coupe DeVille
2009 CTS

76eldo

Bill,

Your testing process seems to show that you have power in and out of the switch.