News:

Due to a technical issue, some recently uploaded pictures have been lost. We are investigating why this happened but the issue has been resolved so that future uploads should be safe.  You can also Modify your post (MORE...) and re-upload the pictures in your post.

Main Menu

GM Tech 2

Started by Peter Nieuwlandt, November 25, 2019, 04:56:06 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Peter Nieuwlandt

Hi, I'm considering buying a Cadillac of late 90's or early 2000's vintage.
Up until now my caddy's were all in the 50's so this is new to me;
Would it be useful to get a GM Tech 2 scanner and does anyone know where to get this? Or does anyone have one for sale?

Thanks

Peter
Peter Nieuwlandt
CLC 17863

Dave Shepherd

You may find one on EBay, but a good Obd11  scanner is another option.  Of course the GM unit can access all functions, bcm  abs, sir, and it is bi-directional.

TJ Hopland

Tech2 can be a tricky one if you don't know what to look for.   I'm no expert on them but did consider buying one at one point.   One thing I learned about them is there are fake ones out there that don't really do anything more than a $50 parts store one.   There are also fake ones that are very good copies of the real ones.  Apparently there are also real ones running fake software.

If you had a specific year and model car in mind I would do some research online and find out if there was anything that required the Tech2.   My guess would be most systems could be dealt with an good older tool from someone like OTC.  I suspect stuff that requires the Tech2 would be more unique and rare systems like maybe the ABS on an Allante sort of thing.  All the common systems were covered by the aftermarket companies.