News:

Due to a technical issue, some recently uploaded pictures have been lost. We are investigating why this happened but the issue has been resolved so that future uploads should be safe.  You can also Modify your post (MORE...) and re-upload the pictures in your post.

Main Menu

1961 390 Water in Oil

Started by whiskeyeagle, February 20, 2020, 09:37:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

whiskeyeagle

Hello, I have 1961 Fleetwood with a 390 engine. We are experiencing water in the oil, milky dipstick. Ran a compression test and leakdown on the heads, and the compression test avg 140lbs, and the leakdown held 95lbs. Any thoughts where to go next to try to find the source of the problem.....Thanks Tim!
Tim Martin

79 Eldorado

Hello Tim and welcome to the forum. I'm not an expert on exactly what you are working on but a couple of things came to mind:
1) Some leaks will be more prone to leaking in one direction so you may need to check for leaks with the coolant side pressurized.
2) How long was it sitting? Could the water have been from condensation?

Scott

Mike Josephic CLC #3877

If you're seeing "mayonnaise" on the dip stick, I
would suspect a head gasket issue.  That is the
result of an oil / water mix due to a gasket leak.

To be sure, you'll need to have somebody check
the radiator inlet (under the cap) with a combustion
gas tester to see if you have exhaust gasses in the
coolant.  You may also be able to see bubbles in
the radiator fluid with the cap off and engine at idle.

https://www.2carpros.com/articles/head-gasket-blown-test

Mike

1955 Cadillac Eldorado
1973 Cadillac Eldorado
1995 Cadillac Seville
2004 Escalade
1997 GMC Suburban 4X4, 454 engine, 3/4 ton
custom built by Santa Fe in Evansville, IN
2011 Buick Lucerne CX
-------------------------------------
CLCMRC Museum Benefactor #38
Past: VP International Affiliates, Museum Board Director, President / Director Pittsburgh Region

Cadman-iac