News:

Due to a technical issue, some recently uploaded pictures have been lost. We are investigating why this happened but the issue has been resolved so that future uploads should be safe.  You can also Modify your post (MORE...) and re-upload the pictures in your post.

Main Menu

1947 driving/shifting Hydromatic

Started by VooDoo, April 16, 2020, 12:49:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

VooDoo

Just had a couple quick question regarding driving/ shifting. My new (to me) 1947 6109 has and automatic transmission.  Is it a neutral safety switch that makes you shift a little beyond neutral before you can start the car? When driving do I need to start out in the low setting and then shift to the high setting? I noticed  The car performs much better going uphill if I start in the low gear when I’m approaching an incline from a dead stop vs having it in high gear from the start? Like I said I’m new to this and would appreciate any info. Also I know there is no parking gear so what is the best way to park the vehicle when not driving? I’ve been told to put it in reverse and turn it off and set the break? Thanks I really appreciate the info 😁
Andy Fulenwider
1937 75 Series Convertible
1947 62 Series Custom Project

PHIL WHYTE CLC 14192

You should just put it in drive and use it like that. It sounds like the neutral safety switch needs adjusting, it should start in neutral. Yes reverse was used as "park" on these transmissions. Low is for snow and ice or stuck in mud etc. The 50s update of this transmission had two drive ranges, 4 speed for all round use and 3 speed for steep hills etc. Phil

TonyZappone #2624

Probably the hardest thing to learn is placing the car in reverse, while running.  You can grind the heck out of things if you do not let the car move imperceptibly almost in dr or lo, before pulling back on the lever and down into reverse. 
Tony Zappone, #2624
1936 Pierce-Arrow conv sed
1947 Cadillac Conv cpe
1958 Cadillac conv
2016 Cadillac CT6 Platinum