News:

Due to a technical issue, some recently uploaded pictures have been lost. We are investigating why this happened but the issue has been resolved so that future uploads should be safe.  You can also Modify your post (MORE...) and re-upload the pictures in your post.

Main Menu

Drive line vibration and u joint angles 59 Caddy

Started by TomJudd, May 29, 2020, 10:04:21 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

TomJudd

Hello all, I am a new member today. Please offer any constructive criticism or helpful hints where due!!I have been reviewing your forums for several years as visitor through Google topic search. I want to share some information on eliminating that unacceptable vibration 55-60 MPH only. I have read the many blogs etc, what worked and what didn't to correct vibration. Over a period of 6 months and multiple drive shaft removals for various steps in correcting vibration I FINALLY NAILED IT. Granted every Caddy is a individual stack up of components, worn items, crashes etc,  I will only relay what steps I took and what corrected My CADDY !! 1) shaft out 3 new joints . Front 2 were acceptable rearmost  disintegrated.Did Not replace carrier or balance. No shim under carrier. Shim was found loose in tunnel and did not install. NO CHNGE IN VIBES. 2) pull shafts,add new carrier brg and professionally balance. Install carrier shim. NO CHANGE IN VIBES. 3) Look seriously at driveline pinion and powertrain geometry(angles)4) Replace trans rear rubber mount. no change. THE AHA MOMENT!!! Trans tail was near 12 degrees down, leaving a unacceptable angle at front joint.  Shimmed between trans mt and crossmember 1/2 inch. Net angle at front joint now less than 1 degree. front shaft 1/2 inch to top of shaft tunnel. 5) pinion angle was angled down slightly so removed 1/4 shims at front of lower rear control arms. DONE. NO MORE BAD VIBES!!!Basically u want trans centerline parallel with pinion angle.  Little or no angle at front joint. Now the rear shaft act like a one piec