News:

Due to a technical issue, some recently uploaded pictures have been lost. We are investigating why this happened but the issue has been resolved so that future uploads should be safe.  You can also Modify your post (MORE...) and re-upload the pictures in your post.

Main Menu

How To Match A Sending Unit to Stock Guage on '37 LaSalle

Started by carlhungness, August 30, 2020, 05:51:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

carlhungness

It has been suggested I 'match ohms to the guage' on my fuel sending unit to the guage. Since the stock sending units for the '37 LaSalle are not obtainable, I'm seeking suggestions on what kind of sending unit I might use for my new (not yet found or built) tank. I have no experience with an ohm meter, so here's another learning experience.

bcroe

If you could supply the ohms vs deg curve for the gauge/sender, it
might be practical to assemble a modern device such as Scott Kent
did.  Bruce Roe

carlhungness

I sure appreciate the reply but have to say it surmises I have prior knowledge of another man's modification, and hope you can direct me toward same. I am imagining he took a modern device and (modified?) used it.

carlhungness

I just did a search for Scott Kent in the member's list and cannot locate him. Of course I'm trying to find out what he did regarding a sending unit.

bcroe

Cancel my reply, I was thinking temp gauge sender.  Bruce Roe

tripwire

Driving now:
2013 CTS4 Performance Coupe
1940 LaSalle 5229 C4D

A few I used to drive:
1976 Cadillac Ambulance
1969 Cadillac Hearse, Superior Body
1966 Buick Wildcat Hearse
1957 Ford Thunderbird x 3, 1 E code, 2 D code
1956 Oldsmobile Rocket 88 Sedan
1949 Mercury Convertible
1949 Mercury Coupe, Mild Custom
1936 Buick Special Sedan

harvey b

If you are making a custom tank,these sending units should work,you will have to run a seperate pipe for a fuel line?.the original was a gear type float and fuel line all in one unit.My 38 has its own fuel outlet on the tank.Harveyb