News:

Due to a technical issue, some recently uploaded pictures have been lost. We are investigating why this happened but the issue has been resolved so that future uploads should be safe.  You can also Modify your post (MORE...) and re-upload the pictures in your post.

Main Menu

First Time Rochester Rebuild

Started by 71 Fleetwood, August 13, 2021, 06:15:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

71 Fleetwood

I did consider giving it a go and doing it myself.   I was cautioned by the guy in MO, whom I thought was a reputable and knowledgeable, that particular carb was not one for a first time rebuilder.

I'm about to the point where I want to order a rebuild kit for my Rochester.  I have no experience with this carburetor.  Am I crazy  :o to try it?

1971 Fleetwood Sixty Special Brougham

fishnjim

Only if you've never done one or don't know how to rebuild carbs and don't want to learn.
You'll need somethings.  Place suitable to do it.   A container big enough to soak in "carb cleaner" and enough carb cleaner to cover, circa 2 gallons.  There's usually a small parts container in the carb cleaner can.  small scrub brushes.   A 2-3 gallon rectangular PE tub from swimming pool chemicals work good w/lid.   "Parts cleaner" also works.
Compressed air.   Small tools.  rubber gloves, shop rags, paper towels, steel wool, etc.  Sink and running water to wash off cleaner.   Bead blaster cabinet is nice for appearance, but not necessary.
A clean covered work bench big enough to take it apart and line out all the parts for re-assembly.   I use a flat tub, water heater drip pan when fluids, piece of carpet foam, for parts retention, etc. so nothing spills or roll off the bench.   Newspaper is messy and parts can roll under the sheets.   I have roll paper I use.   One set-up for dissassembly and another for clean and reassembly.
Good set of instructions.   I have the rochester one copied below.   May not be exact, but search for your number carb.

TJ Hopland