News:

Reminder to CLC members, please make sure that your CLC number is stored in the relevant field in your forum profile. This is important for the upcoming change to the Forums access, More information can be found at the top of the General Discussion forum. To view or edit your profile details, click on your username, at the top of any forum page. Your username only appears when you are signed in.

Main Menu

1974 Eldorado front end suspension rebuild

Started by danjarrett1, September 05, 2021, 10:14:21 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

danjarrett1

I have decided it is time to rebuild the front suspension on my convertible 74 Eldo. It's sloppy in steering, the ball joints are worn, tie rods, steering box, wheel bearings and all of the 47 year old bushings. I'm accumulated most of the replacement bushings and part from Moog and others. But not sure who can do the job. I'm a great drive way mechanic but this job requires tools that I don't have I live in Kentucky but don't have any objection to moving the car to someone who knows these old cars and has the tools to do the  job.

My local tire store guys says he "has a guy" but I'm not that confident in him. Does anyone have a recommendation for someone who knows these suspensions systems inside and out that they could recommend?
1974 Cadillac Eldorado convertible
2007 Cadillac Escalade
1980 Cadillac Seville “Bustleback”
1985 Cadillac Eldorado

cadlove

I'd love to help but sadly am in another country, let alone another state?

I've rebuilt this front end. First thing is critical, you need the factory manual. Let's consider the two areas you're looking at...