News:

Due to a technical issue, some recently uploaded pictures have been lost. We are investigating why this happened but the issue has been resolved so that future uploads should be safe.  You can also Modify your post (MORE...) and re-upload the pictures in your post.

Main Menu

Keeping an AGM battery happy

Started by David Greenburg, January 25, 2022, 10:00:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

David Greenburg

I'm new to the world of AGM batteries, having just put one in my '60.  I know I need a new charger in the event it gets run down, and I know they are best kept on a battery tender if a car is in storage.  But I drive my cars at least weekly.  Does anyone know if a tender necessary or recommended for a car that is driven at least somewhat frequently?  I rarely have any problems with my conventional batteries unless I accidentally leave a door open etc.
David Greenburg
'60 Eldorado Seville
'61 Fleetwood Sixty Special

79 Eldorado

The best thing for batteries seems to be to drive (use) them regularly. I've had the AGM's go bad even on a tender. I then moved to the Optima branded chargers. I now like the Optima charger a little more but I've had Optima batteries go bad on their chargers as well. It makes me wonder if simply removing during storage might be a better idea. I had a lead acid Delco battery in my 2003 Sonoma, which I bought new, and the battery lasted until 2017! For a lot of years all I ever did was remove one terminal if I stored it.

People claim you can revive a dead Optima battery but I've never had any luck doing it.