News:

Due to a technical issue, some recently uploaded pictures have been lost. We are investigating why this happened but the issue has been resolved so that future uploads should be safe.  You can also Modify your post (MORE...) and re-upload the pictures in your post.

Main Menu

Helen Earley -

Started by Sue #5125, January 10, 2005, 11:27:42 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sue #5125

Many of us in the CLC own other vintage cars and may be interested to know that Helen Earley "The First Lady of Oldsmobile" passed away over the weekend.  How very ironic that she passed away just a few days after the very last Oldsmobile was sold new from a dealership in Michigan.

Earley, Helen Jones East Lansing, MI September 4, 1917 to January 8, 2005. This will be my last letter to all my friends and acquaintances. I was born September 4, 1917 in Montcalm County, Michigan along with my twin sister, Bernice Bennett who still survives me. I graduated from the Sheridan (Michigan) High School, went on to Acme Business College in Lansing, MI and also attended Purdue University. In 1942, I took a job as a stenographer in machine procurement at Oldsmobile Division of General Motors in Lansing. After the war I moved into the Sales Department and progressed through a variety of assignments in the sales promotion, sales budget, organization and analysis and advertising sections. In 1960 I transferred to the Public Relations Department and eventually became the executive secretary to the director of public relations in 1972. I retired for the first time from Oldsmobile on August 31, 1987 after 45 years of service. I married William Earley in 1966. He passed away in 1984. During those years I became Oldsmobiles resident historian. In that capacity I amassed thousands of documents about Olds and answered questions about Olds from you and others throughout the world. This was a marvelous assignment and I really enjoyed helping others in their quest for information. I met hundreds of fine