News:

Due to a technical issue, some recently uploaded pictures have been lost. We are investigating why this happened but the issue has been resolved so that future uploads should be safe.  You can also Modify your post (MORE...) and re-upload the pictures in your post.

Main Menu

Aloha From Hawaii - Bought a '59 And Need To Drive it 2000+ Miles Upon Pick Up

Started by Deaf Paul, May 11, 2022, 06:14:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Deaf Paul

Aloha from Oahu, Hawaii. 8)

I'm a deaf teacher on Oahu who has always wanted a white hardtop ever since I saw my first one about 30 years ago.  To date, I have only seen one other '59 since then (pink, 13 years ago).  I'm really excited!

I bought a 1959 white 6-window base Series 62 online over the weekend that was in Mississippi.  It has been picked up (trailered) by an online friend and is now in Lafayette, Louisiana waiting for me to fly over at the end of June to pick up and do a long weeks-long round-about drive across America before arriving in San Diego to drop it off to be shipped home to Oahu.

I've been searching for a good resource/one stop place with basic must-do mods and modernizing tips/upgrade recommendations but have come up short so far, only finding bits and pieces of information and tips scattered across the forums.  Does anybody have a good one-stop website or resource folder that they can share or suggest?  Little things like - use this Napa oil filter, NOT the other brands.  Missing that metal washer/grommet thing in the oil filter? - Here's what to do.  Generators suck, upgrade to an alternator (mine has that already).  Can't find the gas door?  It's in the middle of the rear bumper.  Wiper motor not working (mine apparently doesn't) - Here's which fuse to check, or here's where to get a refurb or get one rebuilt.  Things like that?